First Suite for Wind Band

(Grade 4)

“First Suite for Wind Band” is a set of five short movements, inspired by Gunnar DeFrumerie’s “Pastoral Suite”
for Flute, Harp, and Strings and by Igor Stravinsky’s Suites for Small Orchestra.

Similar to DeFrumerie’s suite (which the movement structure is loosely modeled after), much of this suite sounds
deceptively simple upon first listen. However, ingrained in each movement are subtle complexities and a passionate intensity
which gradually builds until it erupts in the climax of movement 4.

The first movement is a gentle pastoral prelude featuring a lyrical euphonium solo.
There is peace and serenity, but also a feeling of barely-contained passion. 

The second movement is a sinuous and shifty sarabande (with an eighth note removed).
This is the most challenging movement, as it contains several tricky rhythmic elements. 
The grouping of the 5/8 measures is usually 2+3 when the first two eighth notes of the melody start on the downbeat (as in the first measure)
and 3+2 when they are treated as a pickup (as in the pickup to letter G).

The third movement is a gavotte which should never feel at ease: it should always be angsty, restless, and on the edge of pushing
forward in tempo. There should be very little feeling of resolution (even at the cadences) until the final few measures.

The fourth movement is where the sentiments which had been bubbling under the surface break free with a tense and mournful
fughetta. The arrival point at letter R should be massive and almost startling; a “drop the bass” moment.

The fifth movement offers an exciting finale in which the surplus tension is released as an adrenaline rush. It is fiery, passionate, and aggressive.

performance on 11/30/16 by the University of Texas Symphony Band
Ryan Kelly, conductor

Download PDF of C score     Download PDF of transposed score

I also accept purchase orders, can send an invoice (by request), and will ship to your local music store/distributor

I handle each order personally: I am not always able to reply immediately, but I will always send an email response (along with any PDFs ordered) within 24 hours.
Occasionally email servers will redirect it to your junk mail folder or will reject emails with attachments from contacts you have not previously emailed:
if you have not received a response after 24 hours, please contact me at

back to Wind Band

main page